Art. Music. Life. Et cetera.

Empty Nest

Kiln Kitten Pottery

 One of my favorite mediums to work with is the glass of old windows. I draw directly onto the glass with an etching tool, creating ghostly images upon the antique windows. This window etching is entitled, Empty Nest.

Empty Nest

“Empty Nest” is an etching on glass of an old rocking chair. I have always had an attraction for things that retain memories; often it seems that old objects have memories of their own. But this chair is special.

The chair was given to my mother by an older woman who had bought the chair to rock her babies in, but was unfortunately unable to bear children. This is the same chair my mother rocked me and my brother in when we were young.

Now we are grown and out of the house, leaving our beloved parents with an empty nest. But my parents aren’t the only ones we have abandoned. The…

View original post 163 more words

Leave a Reply

